Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma knocked the bailout off with non-striker Charlie Dean pulling out of the fold to claim the last wicket and seal their win against England at Lord’s on Saturday. With the win, India took the ODI series 3-0 to give the retiring Jhulan Goswami a grand farewell. But several players, both current and former, and pundits criticized the manner of dismissal for the last wicket, raising the debate over the ‘spirit of cricket’, even though it is considered perfectly legal.
Among those annoyed by the dismissal was former England men’s team captain Michael Vaughan.
“Mankad is in the rules but I hope it’s not a go too tactic (sic),” he tweeted.
Mankad is in the rules but I hope it’s not too much of a tactic.. You certainly don’t train all your life to win a game with that tactic.. and I know batters have to train to stay behind the line , but it stinks to see such a match won.. Yesterday was a damn good match too #India
— Michael Vaughan (@MichaelVaughan) September 25, 2022
Taking out the non-striker for backing up too far was unofficially called ‘Mankad’, after Vinoo Mankad, but in official ICC laws it falls under the ‘run-out’ section.
“You certainly don’t train all your life to win a game with that tactic…and I know Batters have to train to stay behind the line, but it stinks to see a game like that win,” Vaughan went on. further.
“Yesterday was also a damn good game,” he added.
Charlie Dean came in close with England and had hit a nice 47 to bring England close to a famous win, and the batter was distraught as India took a 16-run victory on her run-out.
But Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur backed Deepti Sharma and said what they were doing was “nothing new”.
But it’s part of the game. I don’t think we’ve done anything new; they are ICC rules. You can always take those risks, I feel it shows your awareness,” Harmanpreet said during the post-match presentation.
“I will support my player; I don’t think she has done anything that is not in the ICC rules and it is part of the game,” she repeated.
Earlier this week, the ICC announced certain changes to the terms of play.
With regard to “running out of the non-striker”, the ICC stated: “The terms of play follow the laws in moving this method of effecting a run-out from the ‘Unfair play’ section to the ‘Run out’ section ‘.”
Topics mentioned in this article